Forex Regulation in Europe – Which Government Bodies Regulate Forex Brokers in the EU?

Forex regulation in Europe falls under MiFID II guidelines, which means that a standard set of rules and regulations apply to all European Union member states equally. A common practice in the EU, which is perfectly legal, is for FX brokers to obtain a license in a region like Cyprus and then “passport” regulation to all EU member states. It’s important to highlight that each EU member state has specific rules and regulations pertaining to their respective country which, in some cases, may supersede EU regulation.

Because of potential differences between pan-EU and member state regulations, it’s helpful to know which regulatory body is responsible for forex & CFD regulation across the European Union. We’ve outlined each EU member state’s regulatory body below and as a supplement also added a couple of non-EU member states to the list in order to provide you with a comprehensive picture.

If your brokerage is seeking regulation in Europe, the most common jurisdiction to obtain a forex broker license would be in Cyprus. After Cyprus, Malta is the next potential jurisdiction to consider, followed by Bulgaria. Finally, the United Kingdom shouldn’t be ruled out from this list. Note, however, that the UK’s relationship with the EU is currently being decided (as of this writing) so specific rules pertaining to the region are subject to change.

To learn more about obtaining a forex broker license in Europe or across the globe, don’t hesitate to contact Atomiq Consulting today in order to discuss FX broker licensing in further detail.

A Complete List of EU Forex & CFD Regulators (Highlight the Flag to View Regulators)


Austria Regulator

Financial and Capital Market Commission (Finanzmarktaufsicht) – FMA

Belgium Regulator

Services and Markets Authority (Autoriteit Voor Financiële Diensten En Markten) – FSMA

Croatia Regulator

Croatian Financial
Services Supervisory Agency (Hrvatska agencija za nadzor
financijskih usluga

Cyprus Regulator

Market Authority (Επιτροπή Κεφαλαιαγοράς
) – CySEC

Czech Republic Regulator

(Česká národní banka) – CNB

Denmark Regulator

(Finanstilsynet) – DFSA

Estonia Regulator

(Majandus- Ja Kommunikatsiooniministeerium) – MKM

Stay Ahead of Regulatory Changes

Explore Our Global Forex
Broker License Options.

  • Flexible leverage
  • Put Paid up capital to work
  • Reduced staff & office gosts

Free License Consultation

    Finland Regulator

    (Finanssivalvonta) – FINFSA

    France Regulator

    (Autorité des marchés financiers) – AMF

    Germany Regulator

    (Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht) – BaFin

    Gibraltar Regulator

    (Gibraltar Financial Services Commission) – CMC

    Greece Regulator

    Capital Markets Commission (Επιτροπή Κεφαλαιαγοράς) – CMC

    Hungary Regulator

    Central Bank of Hungary (Magyar Nemzeti Bank) – MNB

    Ireland Regulator

    Central Bank of Ireland (Banc Ceannais na hÉireann) – CONSOB

    Italy Regulator

    Financial Market Authority (Commissione nazionale per le società e la borsa) – CONSOB

    Latvia Regulator

    Financial and Capital Market Commission (Finanšu un kapitāla tirgus komisija) – FCMC

    Lithuania Regulator

    Securities Commission (Lietuvos vertybinių popierių komisija) – LSC

    Luxembourg Regulator

    Sector Supervisory Commission (Commission de Surveillance du Secteur Financier) – CSSF

    Malta Regulator

    Malta Financial Services Authority (Awtorità tas-Servizzi Finanzjarji ta’Malta) – MFSA

    Netherlands Regulator

    Markets Authority (Autoriteit Financiële Markten) – AFM

    Norway Regulator

    The Financial Supervisory Authority Of Norway (Finanstilsynet) – NFSA

    Poland Regulator

    Financial Supervision Authority (Komisja Nadzoru Finansowego) – FMA

    We’ll Help You Find

    The Best Forex License

    For Your Broker

    Our decades of forex broker regulation experience and knowledge make us the best partner for obtaining an offshore forex license, or onshore option. By working with Atomiq Consulting, we will gladly assist your team with understanding the cost of obtaining a forex license, the application process as well as required documents. We are also able to provider you with some forex broker licenses that are for sale.

    Free License Consultation

      Portugal Regulator


      Romania Regulator

      National Securities Commission (Comisia Națională a Valorilor Mobiliare) – CNVMR

      Russia Regulator

      Spanish Securities Market Commission (Comisia Națională a Valorilor
      Mobiliare) – FMRRC

      Spain Regulator

      Spanish Securities Market Commission (Comisión del Mercado de
      ) – CNMV

      Sweden Regulator

      Financial Market Authority (Finansinspektionen) – FSA

      Switzerland Regulator

      Market Supervisory Authority (Finanzmarktaufsicht) – FINMA

      Ukraine Regulator

      National Securities and Stock Market (Національна комісія з цінних паперів та фондового ринку) – NSSMC

      UK Regulator

      Market Authority (The Financial Conduct Authority) – FCA


      Blog Posts

      View all posts